Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Updated on September 1, 2014
This 208-room is built from 7,000 tons of Golden Teak and is surrounded by a beautiful forest on the shores of Rangoon's Royal Lake - just a stone's throw from the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda.
Originally opened as the Rangoon Rowing Club in 1934, the property retains much of its colonial architecture; while more recent villas and a new wing add a distinct Burmese flavor to the overall design.
The hotel features WiFi, seven bars and restaurants, as well as a spa, boutique retail outlets, and a host of business and leisure facilities.